cApStAn

2021-05-26
by savita.gauchan

Detailed Transcript: Translated Instruments: Coverage at the cost of Equity?

Standardized tests and questionnaires are used in a variety of contexts: admission to university, certification, hiring, or collecting information about background variables, for example. Tests and surveys may come in more than one language. While this broadens the coverage, it may create disparities if the different language versions are not equivalent. cApStAn’s May 5 online …

Read More
2021-05-11
by savita.gauchan

The Wondrous Adaptation Cycle of a PISA2018 Questionnaire Item (and Subsequent Evolutions)

The Wondrous Adaptation Cycle of a PISA2018 Questionnaire Item (and Subsequent Evolutions) Speaker: Shinoh Lee, Survey Localisation Manager at cApStAn LQC Contributor: Elica Krajçeva, Survey Localisation Manager at cApStAn LQC Recorded on 09.03.2021 | Duration: 20 minutes Sophisticated translation designs have become the norm in high-stakes tests and are essential in order to collect comparable …

Read More
2021-04-12
by savita.gauchan

Translated Instruments: Coverage at the cost of Equity?

Wednesday | May 5, 2021 12 pm EDT (New York) | 5 pm BST (London) | 6 pm CEST (Brussels) Join us on May 5 for a one-hour online panel moderated by Steve Dept, founder of cApStAn and expert on linguistic quality assurance in surveys and assessments. Standardized tests and questionnaires are used in a …

Read More
2021-03-26
by savita.gauchan

The Four Key Moments of a Test or Survey Localization Project

Wednesday | April 14, 2021 12:00 pm CEST | 3:30 p.m. IST | 6:00 p.m. MYT/SGT International Large-Scale Assessments (ILSAs) and surveys in multinational, multiregional and multicultural contexts (3MC) have completely overhauled translation practices. New insights in why correct translations can cause unexpected response patterns have led to new requirements. Since 2000, cApStAn have shaped, …

Read More
2021-03-26
by savita.gauchan

The translation and adaptation journey of a TIMMS grade 8 science item

by Pisana Ferrari – cApStAn Ambassador to the Global Village The IEA’s Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS) is a series of international assessments of the mathematics and science knowledge of students around the world, administered every four years. TIMSS 2019 was conducted in 64 countries and 8 benchmarking systems. The outcomes of …

Read More
2021-03-25
by savita.gauchan

What are “intervention categories” and how can revisers use them to improve translation quality?

by Pisana Ferrari – cApStAn Ambassador to the Global Village How do you define “translation quality”? How can it be measured? In a recent live webinar cApStAn’s CEO Steve Dept explained how “intervention categories” used in a translation verification process can help report on translation quality in a standardized way and generate meaningful statistics. Translation …

Read More
2021-03-15
by savita.gauchan

Cognitive Pre-Testing in More Than One Language

Wednesday | March 31, 2021 10:00 a.m. EDT | 3:00 p.m. BST | 4:00 p.m. CEST In multilingual surveys, survey researchers would like to ascertain that all respondents understand the survey questions the same way, i.e. the way the questions are intent to be understood. However, there is no single correct translation of a question, there are many …

Read More
2021-02-23
by savita.gauchan

Intervention Categories: Why Revisers Should Use Them To Describe the Translation Issues They Address

Wednesday | March 10, 2021 12:00 p.m. ET | 5:00 p.m. GMT | 6:00 p.m. CET Join us on March 10 for a 45-minute live webinar with cApStAn founder Steve Dept, who will walk you through a set of intervention categories used in international large-scale assessments as well as in survey polls or recruitment tests. There will be …

Read More
2021-02-16
by savita.gauchan

Trend Measurement in International Assessment Surveys

by Andrea Ferrari – Senior Associate In international surveys in general and in comparative assessments in particular, investigators are interested in collecting data about knowledge, skills and competences of a given population at a given point in time. In addition, if periodical data collections are planned, it is of great interest to also measure change …

Read More
2021-02-04
by savita.gauchan

Translation and Adaptation: The Journey of a TIMSS Grade 8 Science Item

Wednesday | February 24, 2021 12:00 p.m. ET | 5:00 p.m. GMT | 6:00 p.m. CET The International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA) was founded in 1958 and has pioneered international large-scale assessments (ILSAs). IEA studies measure achievement in students worldwide. The outcomes of these studies inform education policies, and the most stringent quality assurance …

Read More
2021-02-01
by savita.gauchan

Referring to the Total Survey Error (TSE) framework when designing and monitoring translation workflows for questionnaires

by Pisana Ferrari – cApStAn Ambassador to the Global Village Advances in survey methodology research have brought advantages to data reliability and validity, especially in the 3MC (Multinational, Multiregional, and Multicultural Contexts) surveys. The “Total Survey Error” (TSE) is the example of a paradigm that provided the conceptual framework for optimizing surveys by maximizing data …

Read More
2021-01-30
by savita.gauchan

Rejection of patent filing could have been avoided with a translatablity assessment

by Pisana Ferrari – cApStAn Ambassador to the Global Village A patent filing by Swiss pharma company IBSA (Institut Biochimique S.A.) has been rejected in a US Court ruling which found that the certified English translation of the Italian term semiliquido was “indefinite”, as the English term “half-liquid” could be construed as several things. This …

Read More